Trooper Andrew Rasala, left, and F/Sgt. Terrance Weems

Indiana State Police Lowell District employees recognized for service

Contributed By:The 411 News

Police officers and staff honored for accomplishments in 2021

The Indiana State Police marks June as recognition month for its police officers and staff. State Police Supt. Douglas G. Carter announced accomplishments and distinguished service awards for its District 13 Lowell Post.

Regional Dispatcher Clarissa Hardy was promoted to Lowell Regional Dispatch Supervisor. Hardy is a 2012 Griffith High School graduate. She obtained her bachelor’s degree in Criminal Justice from Indiana University Northwest in 2016. In June 2017, Clarissa was hired by the Indiana State Police as a Regional Dispatcher at the Lowell Post.

First Sergeant Terrance Weems graduated from the FBI National Academy. F/Sgt. Weems is the Assistant District Commander at the Lowell Post. The 282nd session of the National Academy consisted of 255 men and women from 47 states and the District of Columbia. The class included members of law enforcement agencies from 26 countries.

F/Sgt. Weems is a 1990 graduate of William A. Wirt High School in Gary. He attended Indiana University Northwest and graduated with a bachelor’s degree majoring in sociology. Weems began his law enforcement career in 1994, graduating from the Indiana State Police 51st Recruit Academy.

Trooper Jordin Bilthuis and Trooper Israel Rosillo received two distinguished service awards. Bilthuis and Rosilio were in the Top 5 for OWI Enforcement and both were recipients of the Lifesaving Award.

Trooper Bilthuis recorded 94 arrests for drivers that were operating a vehicle while intoxicated. Trooper Rosillo’s efforts led all troopers at the Lowell Post, and he had the third highest number of O.W.I. arrests in the state. Trooper Bilthuis had the fifth highest number of O.W.I. arrests in the state.

Bilthuis and Rosillo applied first aid to the driver and passengers in an auto that had been struck by gunfire on I-80/94. The two applied tourniquets to the driver who had been shot in the leg and arm.

Trooper Bilthuis is a two-year veteran and Trooper Rosillo is a three-year veteran of the Indiana State Police.

Trooper Andrew D. Rasala Jr. is the 2021 Indiana State Police Trooper of the Year. Trp. Rasala’s performance and accomplishments during 2021 are worthy of such recognition, Supt. Carter said, he is the first trooper assigned to the Lowell Post to receive this accolade. He is also the 2021 Trooper of the District for the Lowell Post. Trp. Rasala also serves his community as a school resource officer for the East Porter County School Corporation.

Troopers Jordin Bilthuis, left, and Israel Rosillo

Dispatcher Supervisor Clarissa Hardy

Story Posted:06/28/2022

» Press Release Homepage

Add Comment

Name (Required)  
Comment (Required)  

View Comments